Civil Ceremony

Well, we’ve been “married” for 3 days now and life is back to normal.  Bogdan is back at work and so am I.  I did want to share a bit more about this wonderful event in our lives.

So, in Romania, like in most of Europe, couples are required to have a civil ceremony. Usually the Christians have their civil ceremony a couple of days for the wedding and the Orthodox usually have their civil ceremony on the same day. But as I said in a previous email, it’s not uncommon to have the ceremony so early when there are complications such as visas and residency permits.

Each couple comes with witnesses, in the Orthodox church, these are the Godparents.  Somehow, our witnesses, Ovidiu and Dana, have been Nas and Nasa–Godfather and Godmother.  It’s become a fun joke and others have joined in.  The Godparents guide the young couple through the entire wedding process. 

With the Godparents before signing the official registry.

The civil ceremony usually is a small affair with maybe 10 or 15 close friends and family in attendance.  After the ceremony, cake and soda are served followed with a dinner somewhere else.  Well, we had 30 people come!!  Friend and family came to support us and it was a great showing of love!  Because so many people came, we didn’t have a dinner.  But we were the only couple to get married on Valentine’s Day, so we were able to take our time in the reception area.  Each guest gave us flowers.  I have never had so many flowers in my entire life!  We gave a bouquet to the woman who officiated the ceremony.  And we took pictures with each family.

That's not even half of the flowers!

After the ceremony, Bogdan and I went with our photographer to the castle ruins here in the city. We took our “engagement” pictures.  After an hour and half in 20 degree weather, we were frozen, but we had some great pictures.  We went back to my place, where our friends had served the meal Bogdan had prepared to his family from out of town.  What amazing friends we have. We enjoyed our time with friends and family.

It was a great day.  We smiled all day.  I hope I was able to give you an insight  to weddings in Romania.

3 Responses

  1. I know I already said this, but you look so beautiful! You are definitely a radiant bride. Brian and I are so happy for you guys, and I can’t wait to meet Bogdan! (I was going to say something “smart” about how hard it was to find a guy good enough for you, but then I figured it might come across wrong in print, especially to people who don’t know me. 🙂 )

  2. It is helpful to understand the process. At the board meeting we were trying to figure out how we should refer to Bogdan after Monday’s ceremony. I am happy to see that you refer to him as your husband even though I understand that you will not be living together until after your church wedding in June. Looking forward to seeing you in March.

  3. Loved seeing the pictures…you guys are radiant in yellow!! Thanks for telling us all about it! We’re so excited for you! Praying about Bogdan’s visa!

Leave a Reply

