Summer Camp 2011

Ok, so I know what you are thinking:  Melissa you are crazy; already planning for next year’s summer camp!  —But I have a good reason!

A couple of weeks ago, Ana and I attended a conference for Sunday School teachers. There we found a great curriculum about the life of  Daniel.  The theme of the camp is: Royal Camp!  The campers are Ladies and Knights,  the leaders are princes and princesses.  And being the bossy person I am…I’ve declared myself Queen. (I remember when I worked at the shelter, I jokingly told the kids I was a princess and for months one little boy called me Princess Melissa…true recognition of my greatness…I miss that!) 

But I digress, the camp curriculum includes lots of skits and the camp ends with a masked ball/carnival for all the kids.  SO we need costumes!  And lots of them.  I am asking, that you keep an eye out for costumes on sale after halloween: princesses, princes, knights, jesters, dragons etc….anything you think will work for our Castle them. We have children ranging in ages from 9 to 19.    I spoke with the director of the program in Dorohoi for the orphan children to schedule their camp at the same time as us.  We had such a wonderful time with the 17 kids from Dorohoi and want to continue the relationship between the children from Stroiesti and them.  They will be paying their own way to camp, but I would still like there to be enough costumes  and crafts for them. 

If you have any ideas, please let me know!!  And remember, it’s never too early to start thinking about coming over to help us with camp!!!

One Response

  1. hi melissa, sorry i am just now getting to respond to your e-mail. i shall keep my eyes open for “stuff” for you! one never knows what is to be had at goodwill!!! one yr. i found some indian garb for a thanksgiving dinner club party we went to . yes it was for denis and he complained as to why he has to always dress for those crazy dinners we used to go to!

Leave a Reply

