An Update…

I wrote the following to my dear sweet friend Cindi; she liked the idea of me posting it .  So it here it is: an update from Romania.

Yesterday,  i went with Claudia to visit 2 families who live in the city and are being helped by the PULS center.   i wanted to cry.  they were so poor.  one family has 5 kids and maybe 2 rooms to the house.  the mother was frying potatos on a hot plate next to bed where the baby was sleeping.  the baby just took a fry right off the pan next to the hot plate.  and it was so dirty.  my head started itching, although, i don’t think there were any lice.  the mother and father don’t work.  and the mother was so excited for the soap and baby items we gave them. esp the nice smelling stuff…its supposed to be for the baby, but we know the whole family will use it.

the other house was worse on the outside, but once in their room (i’m pretty sure they only had the one room) you could tell they took care of it. It was clean and it looks like at some point they had some money b/c they had some nice furniture.  and of course b/c both houses had electricity there was a tv.  now i didn’t see and running water, but its easier to run power lines than to put in pipes.

oh, good news.   i’m going to sing in the christmas choir here.  Gabi is the worship leader (so i have that in) and he and mihaela both thought it would be a good idea.  not only do i get to sing (and you know how much i love to do that) but i will get to meet more people at church.

the church…its small, way smaller than Church on the Cape.  and we meet in the upper room (sounds so gospelesque) of a building not too far from where i live. the service is 2 1/2 hours and there is always lots of praying.  there also seems to be 2 sermons.  or at least that’s whats happened the last 2 weeks.  this past week the kids did a skit of moses sending the people to scout out the promise land and coming back w/  grapes etc.  the kids were sooo cute.

6 Responses

  1. Hey girl! I miss you! I think reading your blog makes you seem farther away than when you were here in the States and we were just a phone call away but rarely took advantage of it.

    It must have been so hard to see those families, especially when you think about how much us Americans really do have (and why do we complain when we don’t have everything we want?)

    Please let me know if there is anything I can send over – you know I have more time and talent than money (and even that is questionable, lol!) Email me if you can think of anything – you know some of the things I make for my etsy shop, and there’s a lot more I can do that never makes it onto Etsy. I’d love to be able to help in some way! 🙂

  2. hi melissa,
    i’ve been out of town for a week and am happy to return and catch up on your news! i love hearing your daily goings on. i can see you smiling and singing as you spread love and the gospel.

    may your language lessons go well. pretty soon, you’ll be thinking and praying in your “new tongue”–ha ha ha!!

    loving you from afar!!

  3. Melissa,
    I am just as excited to read your blog as you are to write it. I see how God is continuing to use your eyes and senses so we can share the Joy.
    I will continue to pray.
    I miss you,
    Renee

  4. please let me know if you need anything for your families…

  5. Hey Melissa!

    Thank you so much for keeping your blog and sharing with us your experiences. God has turned you into such a blessing for these kids and their families, not to mention a blessing to us here at home. We miss you and are praying that God keeps you strong and uses you to bring others close to Him.

    Keep it up!

  6. Hi, Melissa!

    I really enjoyed reading this one and it brought back some memories. When we were there, the church services were 3-1/2 to 4 hours. There were no seats, and because we were guests, the people moved even closer together. I could understand some of the service but my mother could not understand it at all. There were at least 10 speakers. My dad was on the platform and mom and I were squished in the pew. Dad spoke as well. My mom’s friends call her the “protestant nun,” which is what makes the next part so funny. After 3 hours, I saw my mom put her head down and begin to fervently pray. I finally asked her what she was praying. She said, “God forgive me, but I am praying this service will end.” Naturally, we have never let her live that down!!! I can still see that church in my mind and the depth of the need and prayer. One Romanian told us as we were leaving that hope in the Lord was all that they had.

    Be blessed! I am praying for you.

    Rene

Leave a Reply

